What did He SAY?!?!?!

Did you actually Listen to what He said or did you hear somebody say something about what they heard he said or stood for?

There’s a difference between LISTENING & HEARING.

Musicians must pay close attention so that they are actually LISTENING to each other instead of hearing the rest of the band and themselves clang away at their instruments. It’s the difference between a stellar performance and a jam session. It’s the difference between making beautiful music or making noise.

This morning my Inbox was a putrid bile of hatred toward one Ralph Nader who had made an ‘Uncle Tom’ comment toward our beloved president elect. The horror that he would speak his mind about his expectations of the next administration and use such a backward term in referenece toward the first African American elected to the highest office on the planet is unthinkable!

But, when you actually watched and listened – Did he Call Obama an ‘Uncle Tom’ or did he say Barak could make a choice?

It was not unlike how people were interpreting what they thought they heard Mr. Obama say he stood (and did not stand) for during the campaign process and what he actually said he stood for, supported and was against.

What did he SAY?

Back to the Nadar comment for a second. I voted for Barak. I voted against McCain. I have huge expectations of this new president and his administration – even taking into account that change won’t necessarily come overnight, but I am expecting it – and I would’ve expected John McCain to make good on the many plenty promises he made if he would have won.

I won’t give the new president a pass because he’s a Black Man. I voted for him and welcome this moment and will pray for him while not supporting his agenda 100% – but I LISTENED and LISTENED well and I trust that the things he said he would do for this nation and our allies elsewhere jereb2223will come to pass – and if he should not make good on what he said, I will not support him in 2012.

It’s that simple. He does have a choice. Uncle Sam or that other guy…

Leave a comment